Baltic Metropoles Network

Baltic Metropoles Network (BaltMet) represents a forum for capitals and large metropolitan cities around the Baltic Sea. It brings together the cities of BerlinHelsinki, Malmö, Oslo, Riga, Stockholm, St.Petersburg, Tallinn, Vilnius and Warsaw. The main goal of the network is to promote innovativeness and competitiveness in the Baltic Sea Region by engaging cities, as well as academic and business partners, into close cooperation. Another focus area is identity building and marketing of the Baltic Sea Region. Metropolises play a central role in Europe’s efforts to become the most competitive, knowledge-based economy in the world.
The Copenhagen resolution accepted during the BaltMet founding conference in 2002 highlighted that direct metropolis-to-metropolis contacts are vital for the Europe of the future. Baltic Metropolises aim at further co-ordination of viewpoints and initiatives between the metropolises and at communicating joint views to political decision-makers. Baltic Metropolises are also interested in providing substantial contribution into the Northern Dimension actions. In October 2006 in Helsinki BaltMet Mayors presented a priority list on the most important investment projects in environment and infrastructure in the Baltic Sea Region. In parallel, due to regular contacts among the participating cities, the network has promoted a great deal of learning and experience exchange in different areas and levels of city administrations.
The current directions of joint work are summarised in the BaltMet Action Plan 2011 – 2012, accepted at the Mayor’s meeting in Tallinn in February 2011. Previous work plan is outlined in the BaltMet Action Plan 2008 – 2010, accepted at the Mayors’ meeting in Tallinn on 6 November 2007.
The work of BaltMet is based on regular Mayors’ Meetings – the main decision making body, supported by the regular Officials’ Meetings. Mayors meet annually to decide on the new areas of cooperation among the partner cities. The Network is coordinated and administratively run by the Chair City in cooperation with two Vice Chair Cities, elected by the Mayors for two years.
For 2006-2008 the city of Riga was the Chair of Baltic Metropoles, hosting the Secretariat of the Network. More on the Riga Chairmanship see here. On 20 October 2008, the Chairmanship of the Network was officially handed over to the city of Stockholm. Here you can read more about what happened during the Stockholm Chairmanship. After 2 years time, on 4 February 2011 Stockholm passed the Chairmanship to Warsaw. The current Vice Chair Cities are Stockholm and Helsinki.
BaltMet Mayors:
Mr. Michael Müller, Governing Mayor of Berlin, Chair of BaltMet
Mr. Jussi Pajunen, Mayor of Helsinki, Vice Chair of BaltMet
Mr. Edgar Savisaar, Mayor of Tallinn, Vice Chair of BaltMet
Mr. Stian Berger Rosland, Governing Mayor of Oslo
Mrs. Valentina I. Matvienko, Governor of Saint Petersburg
Mr. Remigijus Šimašius, Mayor of Vilnius  
Mr. Ilmar Reepalu, Mayor of Malmö
Mrs. Karin Wanngård, Mayor of Stockholm
Mr. Nils Ušakovs, Chairman of Riga City Council
Mrs. Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz, Mayor of Warsaw, Chair of BaltMet
Berlin logo Oslo logo Helsinki logo St. Petersburg logo Vilnius logo Malmo logo Stockholm logo Riga logo Tallin logo