This section contains information on the Baltic Sea Region and European metropolitan organizations operating in similar working ares as the Baltic Metropoles Network. 
The Baltic Development Forum (BDF) was established in 1999. The Forum provides decision-makers a network for discussing new business opportunities and for developing new regional strategies in public-private partnerships.
The Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS) is an overall political forum for regional intergovernmental cooperation. The members of the Council are the 11 states of the Baltic Sea region as well as the European Commission.
The Union of the Baltic Cities (UBC) was established in Gdansk on 20 September 1991. The UBC has a network of over 100 member cities from 10 Baltic Sea countries. The main principles of the Union is to promote and strengthen cooperation and exchange of experience among the cities in the Baltic Sea Region, to advocate for common interests of the local authorities in the region, and to act on behalf of the cities and local authorities in common matters towards regional, national, European and international bodies. 
Eurocities is a network of major European cities. Founded in 1986, the network brings together the local governments of more than 120 of large cities in over 30 European countries. Eurocities provides a platform for its member cities to share knowledge and ideas, to exchange experiences, to analyse common problems and develop innovative solutions, through a wide range of Forums, Working Groups, Projects, activities and events.
For more information on regional organizations:


Berlin logo Oslo logo Helsinki logo St. Petersburg logo Vilnius logo Malmo logo Stockholm logo Riga logo Tallin logo